SITE SPECIFIC | When I Was a Monkey

This one reveals the rehearsal time for one past production of the company I am working with now.

When I came to Singapore and started working with this company, I was introduced to the concept of site specific performance. It was very new for me at that time. I was .. WOW! Theatre was not necessary anymore. We could actually dance anywhere, and more, we could let the space’s condition play a part in our dance making process and have fun with it. And after that I have become a big fan of site specific work.

For me, what I love most about site specific work is the challenge it put on us and how well we can response to the challenge of the space. And I remember a lot of mosquitoes flying around. eeeeeh! But it was fun anyways. (And every time I smell OFF mosquito repellant spray, I would think of this show.)

What about you? Have you watched or participated in the site specific work? Do you like it? Please share with me.

🙂


(This rehearsal was for Folly of the Garden II by the Arts Fission Company (Singapore) 26-29 July 2012)

Leave a Reply

