SITE SPECIFIC | With No Theatre (Linkin Park – Iridescent)

I just happened to like this song so much. The first time I heard it, I was in a coffee shop thinking of how I could make the world understand what I was doing. I wanted to be a professional dancer. But I lived in a place that no one believed that such thing could exist. I felt I was standing alone.

That evening we, me and my friends who shared the same belief gathered at the same coffee shop. We called that place our office. And we decided to go out and just dance. Just DANCE. There was no fixed theme. We just picked the arrow as a sign of our goal and improvised on it in our own style.

It was not the good work when I came back to watch it again 3 years later. It was just a group of dancers playing together, improvising with no clear direction. But, as one of the dancers participating in this, what I can see (maybe not by me physical eyes) is the true passion of the amateurs. However, it was so genuine. It was like we said it out loud with every part of out bodies : “Yeah we are gonna dance here. Who cares?”

And now, 3 years later, here is my question.
How much passion I can maintain when it becomes my true career now? Can I still dance it out like no one cares and me caring of no one, just only me and the space and the team. How much can I still stay true to myself when it comes to improvisation?

You know what? The answer is 150% if not more.
Today, I am happy with where I am and what I do. Working with a dance company which does a lot of things based on loose choreography gives me enough space to make an artistic decision on the spot and it sharpens my idea. And if there’s anyone I need to thank. I’d say thank you to my friends who did the kick-start together that evening.

🙂

I will sprinkle some more site specific works I did in the past and maybe in the future once in a while. I will start sharing with you about the dance+discussion I am focusing on now – The ‘OTHER’ Me – cause I am hungry for opinions.

Leave a Reply

